La Vie invisible

Thierry has been blind for almost forty years. An amateur actor, he reconstructs the memory of a show that moved him, but for which he remembers neither the title nor the names of the characters. A theatrical experiment in perception, memory and self-construction.

To write this play, which questions the place of images in our perception of reality, Lorraine de Sagazan and author Guillaume Poix collected testimonies from blind and partially-sighted people, with the aim of revealing their relationship with memory and fiction. Starting out as an investigation into perception, La Vie invisible turns into a meditation on the notion of point of view, underpinned by the experience of a blind person.

Videos

To see this embedded content, you must accept the use of content-related third party cookies.

Learn more

Press reviews

As with Ibsen, Chekhov and Norén, authors she is particularly fond of, the director uses theater here in its capacity to represent reality while giving access to hidden worlds. In a simple, uncluttered staging, where the changes of enunciation (…) are fluid, a touching and original show develops, where illusion happily rubs shoulders with the greatest theatricality.

Eric Demey, La Terrasse

Guillaume Poix’s subtle writing weaves together reality and fiction to the point of total dissolution. Better still, he expands the realm of possibility with this dual material (Thierry’s bioraphy and theatrical invention).

Nadja Pobel, Théâtre(s)

In La Vie invisible, a brief, stripped-down form, a psychomagical act is played out, whose emotional charge, dubbed by Pergolesi’s Stabat mater dolorosa, explores the before and after, the below and beyond of a life’s drama (…). Thierry’s intimate words are more than just an effect of reality in the theatrical present, for by revealing his shadowy side, they unfold, as if as far as the eye can see, their immense consoling power, which affirms: veni, vidi, vixi: I came, I saw, I lived.

Matthias Daval, I/O Gazette

In La Vie invisible, there’s mystery, suspense, tragedy, humor, love, deep suffering, and above all, a moral strength in Thierry Sabatier that radiates and gives him a magnificent presence.

Armelle Héliot, lejournaldarmellehéliot.fr

Dates

Upcoming Dates

  • No upcoming dates

La Vie invisible

Thierry est aveugle depuis près de quarante ans. Acteur amateur, il reconstitue le souvenir d’un spectacle qui l’a bouleversé mais dont il ne se souvient ni du titre, ni du nom des personnages. Une expérience de théâtre sur la perception, la mémoire et la construction de soi.

Pour l’écriture de cette pièce qui interroge la place des images dans notre manière de percevoir le réel, Lorraine de Sagazan et l’auteur Guillaume Poix ont collecté des témoignages de personnes aveugles ou malvoyantes avec l’envie de donner à sentir le rapport qu’elles entretiennent à la mémoire et à la fiction. Démarrée comme une enquête sur la perception, La Vie invisible se transforme en une méditation sur la notion de point de vue, étayée par l’expérience d’un non-voyant

Vidéos

Pour afficher ce contenu, vous devez accepter l’utilisation de cookies liés aux contenus tiers.

En savoir plus

Revues de presse

Comme avec Ibsen, Tchekhov ou Norén, auteurs qu’elle affectionne particulièrement, la metteuse en scène utilise ici le théâtre dans sa capacité à représenter le réel tout en donnant accès à des mondes cachés. Dans une mise en scène simple, dépouillée, où les changements d’énonciation (…) se font avec fluidité, se développe ainsi un spectacle touchant et original, où l’illusion côtoie avec bonheur la plus grande théâtralité.

Eric Demey, La Terrasse

La très subtile écriture de Guillaume Poix permet de tisser le réel et la fiction au point de les dissoudre totalement. Mieux, il agrandit le champ des possible avec cette double matière (la bioraphie de Thierry et l’invention théâtrale).

Nadja Pobel, Théâtre(s)

Dans La Vie invisible, forme brève et dépouillée, se joue un acte psychomagique dont la charge émotionnelle doublonnée par le Stabat mater dolorosa de Pergolèse explore l’avant et l’après, l’en deçà et l’au-delà du drame d’une vie (…). La parole intime de Thierry n’est pas qu’un effet de réel dans le présent théâtralisé, car en dévoilant sa part d’ombre, elle déploie, comme à perte de vue, son immense pouvoir consolateur, qui affirme : veni, vidi, vixi : je suis venu, j’ai vu, j’ai vécu.

Matthias Daval, I/O Gazette

Il y a dans La Vie invisible du mystère, du suspens, des tragédies, de l’humour, de l’amour, des souffrances profondes, et surtout en Thierry Sabatier, une force morale qui irradie et lui donne une présence magnifique

Armelle Héliot, lejournaldarmellehéliot.fr

Dates